Asian County Board
Cumann Lúthchleas Gael
Bord na hÁise



The Alan Power MVP Trophy

Alan Power 1972 - 2008

Since the games in Penang in 2008, the Most Valuable Player in the Men's Competition at the Asian Gaelic Games is awarded the "Alan Power MVP Trophy".  Alan Power was the recipient of the Men's MVP award at the AGG in 2007 in Singapore and was a long time veteran of the Asian Gaelic Games, playing in six tournaments for the Singapore Gaelic Lions.

Alan tragically passed away on 20th July 2008, during a Blitz competition held by the Gaelic Lions.  He is dearly missed by all of his club-mates, friends & family in Singapore, Cork & the wider Asian Gaelic community.  After his passing the Men's MVP Award was fittingly named in his honour and is now presented each year.

An avid Sportsman, Alan ran weekly with the Hash House Harriers, was a member of three Soccer teams as well as the Wombats AFL team and of course, he played at the heart of the Singapore Gaelic Lions club. Over the years he contributed hugely to the club both on and off the field.  Up front for the Lions he could always be counted on for his pace, skill and his "gentle" advise to all around him.  Off the field, he could again be counted on for more of that advice and plenty of craic - usually from his favourite seat in Muddy Murphy's.

Alan's family meant a great deal to him, and his parents Billy & Mary have also been long-time veterans of the AGG - travelling from Cork to five of the AGG's over the years and have been stalwarts on the sidelines for the Gaelic Lions through the years.  His whole family travelled to the AGG in Penang in October 2008 and his parents and his beloved Tessa presented the first Alan Power Trophy.

The Gaelic Lions continue to celebrate his life and his memory each season with the Alan Power Games held in July, which brings together all of Alan's former clubs in Singapore for a day of Soccer and Gaelic Footall and a night of celebrations afterwards.

As himself would say... "If ye want to win, give me the ball"

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dilís.

Roll of Honour

Location  Year  Winner Club
Singapore 2007 Alan Power Singapore Gaelic Lions 
Penang 2008 MJ Tierney Hong Kong GAA
Bangkok 2009 Willie Murray Hong Kong GAA 
Hong Kong 2010 Gareth McDermott Dubai Celts
Singapore 2011 Jason O'Neill Singapore Gaelic Lions